Success Through Advocacy and Mentoring (STAR)
FASD Prevention Program

The Success Through Advocacy and Role Modelling (STAR) Program offers support to pre & post-natal women (up to 1 year after birth) to support healthy pregnancies and lifestyles. This  is a client-centered program that links participants with a mentor who assists them in identifying and achieving goals related to wellness. Mentors offer non-judgemental 3 year mentoring, advocacy, and emotional support to women who are not otherwise effectively engaged with community resources. Mentors are women from the community who have overcome similar issues that STAR clients are confronted with cultural safety of language, family ties, and cultural and spiritual acceptance are focal points of the program, which also aims to ensure clients are linked to appropriate services including assessments, referrals, follow-up, and other services are accessible despite the geographic barriers that SERDC communities face.

Clients are supported to set their own goals, with encouragement given to develop a trusting relationship with available resources.

 

  
Rachel Keijzer Helene San Pedro
STAR Manager STAR Regional Peer Support & Training Officer
SERDC Health SERDC Health
Tel: 204.956.3285 Tel: 204.956.7500
rachelk@serdc.mb.ca helenes@serdc.mb.ca
           
Ginger Whiteway Cyndi Kipling Stephanie Thomas  Barbara Fisher Cheyenne Keeper Vacant
STAR Mentor STAR Mentor STAR Mentor STAR Mentor STAR Mentor STAR Mentor
Berens River Little Grand Rapids Black River, Brokenhead, Hollow Water Bloodvein Pauingassi Poplar River
Tel: 204.382.2525 Tel: 204.397.2407 Tel: 204.956.7500 Tel: 204.395.2551 Tel: 204.397.2371  
gingerw@serdc.mb.ca cyndik@serdc.mb.ca  stephaniet@serdc.mb.ca barbaraf@serdc.mb.ca cheyennek@serdc.mb.ca