The Southern Manitoba First Nations Commercial Tobacco Reduction Strategy (SMFNCTRS), is a program administered through Southeast Resource Development Council (SERDC) Health Services. This strategy is inclusive of three other Tribal Councils in the southern Manitoba region, including: Dakota Ojibway Tribal Council, Interlake Reserves Tribal Council, West Region Tribal Council, and eight independent First Nations resulting in a total of 36 First Nations communities.

The strategy focuses on six program pillars:

  • Protection
  • Prevention
  • Education
  • Cessation
  • Reducing Access to Tobacco Products
  • Data Collection

SMFNCTRS’s aim is to reduce the number of commercial tobacco product users within southern Manitoba. If you are a community member, health worker, band council member, or school employee, contact SMFNCTRS to collaborate on any possible activities you wish to accomplish within your community.



Jason Leshchyshyn, Commercial Tobacco Reduction Facilitator 

tobacco call out